Jeff Perro Agrees to Terms with Montgomery Biscuits

Montgomery, AL —-

Veteran free agent clubhouse manager Jeff Perro has announced that he has agreed to terms with the Tampa Bay Rays and their AA affiliate, the Montgomery Biscuits, to be the Biscuits’ home clubhouse manager for the 2012 season.

Perro has been one of the most highly sought after free agent clubhouse managers during the 2011-2012 offseason.  He had been in contact with many organizations and minor league teams over the past three months. He had been very quiet, however, about which teams he had talked to, until today, when he announced that he was formally offered, and then accepted, the Biscuits position on Monday.

“There was a lot to consider.” states Perro. “I was mentally preparing myself to have to move across the country to have a job that I wanted. It’s a great relief to have an outstanding job so close to home.”

In additon to proximity, the other qualities of that Perro listed he had to consider were salary and other financials, quality of ballparks and cities,  overall chemistry with the affiliate and parent organization, and other intangibles.

“Montgomery’s Riverwalk Stadium has easily been my favorite ballpark since I first visited there a few years ago, and I’ve been to a lot of them. Perro continues “It’s going to be a great experience going to work at that place everyday. I’m also excited about working for Tampa Bay. I’ll be going to spring training in Port Charlotte, then I’ll be able to formally meet the entire organization, but I’ve been very impressed by our emails and phone conversations.”

Prior to working with the Montgomery Biscuits, Jeff Perro has also worked in the clubhouse with the Augusta GreenJackets, in 2008, and the Birmingham Barons, in 2001, as well as the last three seasons. He has also worked with the Mobile BayBears, and defunct Mobile BaySharks as well as the Mobile Mysticks hockey team in other capacities.

“I am going to miss Birmingham. I made some great friends with the Barons and White Sox, but I’m not far from them, I’ll still be able to visit. I also looked foward to the Southeastern Conference baseball tournament and the Rickwood Classic, every year. I’m going to miss those events, but there is no doubt that this is a great move for me.”

Perro will be back and forth between his home south of Birmingham and Montgomery over the next two months to prepare for the upcoming season, He’ll be to flying to Port Charlotte, FL for the Rays’ spring training toward the end of February. From there, he’ll fly back to Birmingham, gather his things, and be ready to begin the 2012 season with the Biscuits.

Follow Perro as @MiLBClubbie on Twitter and follow Facebook page for his “Inside the Clubhouse” blog.

Leave a Reply

